Friday, August 14, 2009

Tchaikovsky - Symphony No 6 'Pathetique' - Eschenbach, Philadelphia Orchestra (FLAC)

After a very good Tchaikovsky Fifth symphony and a so-so Fourth, Christoph Eschenbach and the Philadelphia Orchestra have hit a home run with the Pathétique. Like the previous editions in this cycle, this is a large-scale performance with movement durations somewhat longer than the norm. But this in no way suggests slackness on Eschenbach's part, for his is a taut and tense reading, infused with drama and passion. The first-movement development releases tremendous energy without becoming maudlin, but the biggest climax comes at the second subject's reprise, where Eschenbach milks the big tune for all its expressive power. Afterward the scherzo trips along lightly in its 5/4 meter.

The Philadelphia Orchestra plays superbly: this is the finest and most expressive playing on disc since Bernstein's enthralling (and sprawling) 1986 version with the New York Philharmonic. Philadelphia's hallmarks are all present: rich, singing strings, biting brass, and vibrant woodwinds. The percussion is excellent too--listen to the bold timpani playing in the magnificently rendered march-scherzo third movement. The finale captivates at Eschenbach's slow pace. This, along with his unapologetic evocation of the music's dark emotions, makes the ending truly tragic.

Tchaikovsky's fiery and dramatic Dumka makes a nice foil for the preceding symphony (not that you really need one), and Eschenbach demonstrates his virtuoso piano technique in this stirring reading. The recording sports high impact and wide dynamic range in both CD and SACD formats. An excellent disc, with performances that will make fans of the Ormandy/Philadelphia versions feel right at home. --Victor Carr Jr

Track list
Tchaikovsky: Symphony #6 In B Minor, Op. 74, "Pathétique" - 1. Adagio, Allegro Non Troppo

Tchaikovsky: Symphony #6 In B Minor, Op. 74, "Pathétique" - 2. Allegro Con Grazia

Tchaikovsky: Symphony #6 In B Minor, Op. 74, "Pathétique" - 3. Allegro Molto Vivace

Tchaikovsky: Symphony #6 In B Minor, Op. 74, "Pathétique" - 4. Finale: Adagio Lamentoso,

Tchaikovsky: Dumka, Op. 59 - Russian Rustic Scene


  1. Thanks for post. It’s really informative stuff.
    I really like to read.Hope to learn a lot and have a nice experience here! my best regards guys!
    seo jaipur--seo jaipur

  2. Hello Bachradio... first time I´m in your blog and is a very interesting place, I´m preparing to listen your Tchaikovsky 6th with Eschenbach, to maximize listening pleasure always is a great thing get covers, but your post have too much little ones, can you upload separately covers little more big? Thanks a lot. Arsumbrae

  3. Excellent!
    Another patient for my bedlam-blog.
    Very kind of you.

  4. Not sure if it's always this bad, but File Factory, where you have put this download, never seems to have an available server, and its advertisements run on scripts which slow down the computer and at times lock up the browser. I have had both Firefox and Internet Explorer bog down and stop loading because of the buggy scripts on File Factory. Could you go back to Rapidshare, or move to Mediafire?

  5. Dear GP, I am posting exclusively at RS at the moment. Filefactory seems to be good only for certain countries. Keep trying will download eventually...


  6. THANKS, Otto. Glad to hear you're now posting on RS.

    As you advised, I tried again. I got the first part downloaded but on trying to get the second, File Factory had me wait over one thousand seconds...and at the end of that time, I hit the button to download and File Factory sent me back to waiting another over one thousand seconds. I had other things to do on the computer anyway, so I repeated the process. After five times (over five thousand seconds) I gave up. Maybe later, maybe never, I guess.

    To anyone else with a blog, or the need to distribute files: avoid File Factory like the H1N1 flu virus.



Related Posts with Thumbnails
There was an error in this gadget